Simbas begin Victoria Cup campaign with win over Zambia

1st November 2023

The Jerome Paarwater coached side will now clash against Uganda on Sunday.

Simbas in action against Zambia. PHOTO| Uganda Rugby Union
Simbas in action against Zambia. PHOTO| Uganda Rugby Union
  • Simbas touched down six times in the victory over Zambia.
  • The game was Simbas first assignment since May.
  • The team will now face Uganda in the title decider on Sunday

The men’s national rugby 15s side Kenya Simbas started their 2023 Victoria Cup campaign with a 36-12 win over Zambia at the Kyadondo Rugby Club in Kampala, Uganda on Wednesday evening.

The side were quick off the blocks, Kabras Sugar ace Jone Kubu converting tries from Hillary Odhiambo and Joel Inzuga for a 14-0 lead.

It was soon 19-0 through Paul Mutsami’s unconverted try before Zambia responded with two penalties from Alex Mwewa and Terry Kaushiku for a 19-6 score at the break.

Kubu landed an unconverted try for a 24-6 lead before two Kaushiku penalties brought the score to 24-12.

Teddy Akala then scored an unconverted try for a 29-12 score before Andrew Matoka converted George Nyambua’s try to confirm the full-time score.

Kenya will now face Uganda in the title decider on Sunday after the Uganda Cranes thrashed Zambia 30-8 in the opening encounter of the tournament.

The clash between Kenya and Uganda will also serve as the first leg of the famous Elgon Cup which is making its return for the first time since 2019.

The second leg will be played on 11 November in Kisumu.

Simbas Fixtures

Wednesday 1 November 2023

Kenya 36-12 Zambia | Kyadondo, Kampala

Sunday 5 November 2023

Kenya vs Uganda | King’s Park Kampala | 1600hrs EAT

Simbas squad in Kampala

George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar, captain) Brian Wahinya (KCB), Elkeans Musonye (Menengai Oilers), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Derrick Ashiundu (Kabras Sugar), Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar), Andrew Matoka (Strathmore Leos), Jone Kubu (Kabras Sugar), Hillary Mwanjilwa (Kabras Sugar), Teddy Akala (Kabras Sugar), Brian Ndirangu (Menengai Oilers), Hibrahim Ayoo (Menengai Oilers), Joel Inzuga (Mwamba), Walter Okoth (Kabras Sugar), Barry Robinson (Kabras Sugar), Jeanson Misoga (Kabras Sugar), Peter Waitere (KCB), Paul Mutsami (Keny Harlequin), Dan Ang’wech (Kabras Sugar), Reinhard Mwalati ( Masinde Muliro), Thomas Okidia (KCB), Wilhite Mususi (KCB), Emmanuel Otieno (Kabras Sugar), Hillary Odhiambo (Kabras Sugar), Alfred Orege (Kabras Sugar)

Non- Travelling Reserves: David Bunduki (Kabras Sugar), Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Shem Okola ( Strathmore Leos)

Additional reporting by KRU