List of players who won individual awards at concluded 2023 AFCON

12th February 2024

No player from Ivory Coast managed to scoop an individual award despite their success.

William Troost-Ekong. PHOTO| AFP
William Troost-Ekong. PHOTO| AFP
  • Ivory Coast won the title after coming from behind to beat Nigeria 2-1.
  • The success sees them add this year's title to those claimed in 1992 and 2015, while the win also allowed them to join Nigeria on three Cup of Nations triumphs overall.
  • They became the first host country to win the AFCON since 2006.

The delayed 2023 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) ended in style on Sunday, February 11 with hosts Ivory Coast lifting the coveted trophy.

The Elephants produced a brilliant comeback to beat pre-match favorites Nigeria 2-1 at the iconic Alassane Ouattara Olympic Stadium domiciled in Abidjan.

Super Eagles’ defender William Troost-Ekong had put Nigeria ahead in the 38th minute but two second-half goals from Franck Kessie and Borussia Dortmund forward Sebastian Haller ensured the trophy remained in Ivory Coast. 

Click here to place your bet on the Crystal Palace vs Chelsea game

Haller, who recently survived testicular cancer, scored the winner in the 81st minute after receiving a pinpoint cross from Brighton & Hove Albion winger Simon Adingra to send the fully packed stadium into a frenzy. 

The success was sweeter since it made the Ivoirians equal the number of AFCON titles that Nigeria has won in the history of the continental showpiece.

Despite the memorable win, no player from the Elephants team managed to scoop an individual award.

Here is the list of stars who won individual awards at the 34th edition of one of the most difficult tournaments in the world. 

ALSO READ: Haller hits winner as Ivory Coast beat Nigeria to take AFCON title

Player of the tournament 

Nigeria skipper Troost-Ekong was awarded the best player of the tournament for the compelling display he showed since the start of the tournament.

The reliable defender, who plays professional football for Greek-based side PAOK FC, scored some important goals that helped the Super Eagles reach the final. He was also solid at the back, throwing himself at anything that came his way.

Best Goalkeeper

South Africa goalkeeper Ronwen Williams was named the best shot stopper of the tournament and was rewarded with the Best Goalkeeper award.

The Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper was instrumental in South Africa’s AFCON campaign, helping them reach the semifinal for the first time in over two decades.

ALSO READ: Sizzling Omanyala breaks national record again at Paris Indoor Meet

Williams saved several penalties in the tournament including four against Cape Verde which made him enter history books as the first-ever goalkeeper to achieve that incredible feat.

Golden Boot award  

Meanwhile, Equatorial Guinea mercurial forward Emilio Nsue Lopez bagged the Puma Golden Boot Award.

The 34-year-old was the tournament’s top scorer with five goals including a hat-trick against rivals Guinea Bissau at the group stage.

Egypt’s Mostafa Mohamed and Angola’s Gelson Dala came second with four goals each while Nigeria’s Ademola Lookman completed the list of the top three goal scorers having hit the back of the net three times.

Finally, South Africa’s national team popularly known as Bafana Bafana were awarded the Fair Play award by the organizers.

ALSO READ: SportPesa launch Valentine’s campaign with 14,000 up for grabs daily

List of individual winners at AFCON 2023

Total Energies Best Player: William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria)

Puma Golden Boat: Emilio Nsue Lopez

Ecobank Best Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams (South Africa)

Fair-Play Air Côte d’Ivoire Team: South Africa