Connect with us


The Kenya men and women national sevens rugby teams geared for the 2016 Rio Olympic games.

Spread the love

The Kenya men and women national sevens rugby teams will head to Johanesburg South Africa in September and November for the qiualification tournament for 2016 Rio Olympic games.

The top four teams in both the men’s and women’s competitions of the IRB sevens series will  at the close of this season automatic qualification to Rio where they will join hosts Brazil for the first sevens rugby competition at the Olympic games.

One men’s and one women’s team will qualify from each of the six regional Olympic qualification tournaments, that will take place between June and November 2015.

Johannesburg will first host the African women’s competition in September  then the men’s qualifiers in November. Kenya’s Lionesses will be looking for that Olympic ticket on September 26/27, while the men who will not make the top four when the current series season ends will target qualification on November 14/15.

 World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said:  ‘This exciting announcement marks another significant milestone as the global rugby family counts down to rugby sevens’ Olympic Games debut at Rio 2016 when we will see rugby’s first Olympians in more than 92 years competing on sport’s greatest stage.  With rugby sevens enjoying unprecedented global profile and growth and the men’s and women’s Sevens World Series set to go down to the wire in this, the most compelling of rugby sevens’ years, I am sure that the regional Olympic qualifiers will be extremely competitive, underscoring the tremendous depth of competition around the globe.’

 South America who will provide the first regional qualifiers with the men’s and women’s tournaments taking place in Santa Fe, Argentina from 5-7 June.

The 12th and final place in both the men’s and women’s Olympic Games rugby sevens competitions will be determined via a World Rugby final tournament which will take place before the end of June 2016. The dates and venue will be announced by 31 December, 2015.  

Spread the love

More in Rugby