Connect with us


Cleaning House: NOC-K President Tergat Spells Vision

NOC-K President, Paul Tergat. PHOTO/File
NOC-K President, Major Paul Kibii Tergat. PHOTO/File
Spread the love

NAIROBI, Kenya-Retired long distance icon, Major Paul Tergat, has promised to work with all elected officials after he was elected unopposed as the new National Olympic Committee-Kenya (NOC-K) President.

Although he was elected unopposed, his erstwhile ‘Team Change’ line up suffered a beating during Friday’s Elective General Assembly (EGA) leaving the former world marathon record holder with a daunting task of uniting the divided Olympics body.

Tergat sailed to the top seat without breaking sweat after the EGA barred his challenger, Patrick Karuga Muya, the Vice-chairman of the Kenya Swimming Federation, from vying when he failed to meet the threshold of nine votes to be a candidate.

Athletics Kenya (AK) President Lt. Gen (Rtd) Jackson Tuwei who was vying for the second Deputy president and vocal table tennis boss Andrew Mudibo who was seeking the powerful Secretary General post, were the biggest ‘Team Change’ casualties in the elections that saw delegates play their cards under the table.

Mudibo lost by a single vote to incumbent Francis Kinyili Paul who got nine votes while Kenya Volleyball Federation boss; Waithaka Kioni humiliated Tuwei after securing 13 votes to six.

“I will be the president for all as we seek to take sports forward. I want to state that all federations matter moving forward,” the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Member Tergat, who replaced long serving Dr. Kipchoge Keino stated.

“The priority is to see sports scale to new heights. I want to thank the delegates for this historic moment,” the five-time IAAF World Cross winner who set the marathon record when he ran 2:04:55 at the 2003 edition of the Berlin city race added.

“There is need to move forward as a team. We thank our godfather Keino for taking us this far. It is about time we finished the race,” the thrice IAAF World Half Marathon gold winner added amid applause.

“It’s with great Honour and Privilege to stand here today as the President-elect of the National Olympic Committee of Kenya (NOC-K).  In a sense, this mirrors the feeling I used to get after crossing the finish line of a gruelling 42.199KM marathon.

Tremendous humility

“This momentous election is a calling and a responsibility I cherish with tremendous humility. It’s exciting as it is demanding. It is the start of a major journey, a journey of transformation and restoration,” the two-time Olympic 10000m silver medallist said in a statement sent to newsrooms on Saturday night in accepting his new role.

“Friends, this day marks another Great milestone and the beckoning of a New Dawn in Kenya’s Sports. It is a new dawn guided by values of integrity, responsible governance, accountability and transparency.

“A new dawn that will embrace the dynamic innovations in sports such as sports science technologies and advancements in a rapidly changing World. A dawn that will seek to put above else the interests of our sportsmen and women and our beautiful Nation. They shall be central to our administration policies and activities,” his speech added.

Earlier, the EGA became a heated affair when Kenya Rowing and Canoe Federation official James Mweu came with orders from the High Court and Sports Tribunal barring his own and four other federations; Cycling, Taekwondo, Weightlifting and Badminton from taking part in the EGA.

The move to have Conrad Thorpe to represent swimming as the voter was also dismissed by the Sports Tribunal and High Court.

Also barred from getting elected were John Ogolla (weightlifting), and Julius Mwangi, who were to run as a committee members.

New NOC-K office

Athlete’s representative

Humphrey Kayange

Hellen Obiri

Women representative

Paurvi Rawal 12

Tegla Loroupe 6

Committee Members

Shoaib Abdulgani 17, Paul Otula 13, Winnie Kamau 15, Catherine Ndereba 10

Deputy treasurer

Paul Rwambo 11

John Kameta 8


Anthony Kariuki 11

Elina Shiveka 8

Deputy Secretary

Francis Mutuku 15

Timothy Mubea 4

Secretary General

Francis Paul 9

Andrew Mudibo 8

John Kilonzo 2

Second Deputy vice President

Waithaka Kioni 13

Jackson Tuwei 6

First deputy president

Shadrack MalukI 10

Nahashon Randiek 9

Paul Tergat unopposed.

Spread the love

More in Athletics