Connect with us


Snook Lists 14 Debutants In Provisional Simbas Squad

Kenya Simbas (in red) in action against Chile in their Cup of Nations opener in Hong Kong on Friday, November 10, 2016. PHOTO/KRU
Kenya Simbas (in red) in action against Chile in their Cup of Nations opener in Hong Kong on Friday, November 10, 2016. PHOTO/KRU
Spread the love

NAIROBI, Kenya- National rugby 15s head coach, Ian Snook, has listed 14 debutants in his provisional Simbas squad of 35 that will prepare for the 2018 Rugby Africa Gold Cup.

The New Zealander rolled out his first team since taking charge a fortnight ago that he divided into two groups where he worked alongside local club coaches, Charles Cardovillis, Frank Ndong, Curtis Olago and Paul Murunga to whittle the prospects down and select his provisional squad for continental duty.

Inaugural Enterprise Cup Champions Menengai Cream Homeboyz RFC have seven players in the squad with Patrick Ouko (front row), Dalmus Chituyi (back row), Maxwell Kangeri (center), Zedden Marrow (center) and Mohammed Omollo (scrum half) in the running for their Simbas debut.

Winger Tony Onyango and front row Phillip Ikambili complete the Homeboyz RFC contingent in the provisional Simbas squad.

Domestic league Kenyan Cup champions KCB RFC have 12 in the team with front row Nelson Nyandat and scrumhalf Xavier Kipng’etich hoping to be handed their maiden caps as Kenya prepare to reclaim the continental crown and qualify automatically for a first Rugby World Cup in Japan next year.

Round robin

Kenya will kick-start their journey away to Morocco on June 23 then host Zimbabwe and Uganda on June 30 and July 7 with the final round robin away to  Tunisia and Namibia slated on August 11 and 18.

Dennis Karani, George Asin, Steve Otieno, Peter Waitere, Mike Wanjala, Nato Simiyu, Levi Amunga, Johnstone Mungau, Dennis Muhanji and Aggrey Kitoi are Simba regulars from previous squads that failed to make Snook’s team.

Snook took over from South African national, Jerome Paarwater, who was fired last December.

Simbas 2019 squad

FRONT ROW: Patrick Ouko* (Homeboyz), Oscar Simiyu (KCB),Moses Amusala (KCB), Joseph Odero* (Kabras),Nelson Nyandat (KCB)*, Curtis Lilako (KCB),Peter Karia, (KCB)Phillip Ikambilli, (Homeboyz), Coleman Were* (Kabras) LOCKS: Oliver Mangeni (KCB),Malcolm Onsando* (Quins),Eric Kerre (Impala),Wilson Kopondo, (Quins),Andrew Chogo* (Kabras) BACK ROW: George Nyambua (Kabras),Dalmus Chituyi* (Homeboyz),Peter Misango* (Quins),Elkeans Musonye (Strathmore),Martin Owila (KCB), Davis Chenge (KCB) SCRUM HALVES: Samson Onsomu (Impala), Xavier Kipngetich* (Impala), Mohammed Omollo (Homeboyz)*, FLY HALVES:Isaac Adimo (Quins), Biko Adema (Nondies), CENTERS: Leo Seje (Impala), Maxwell Kangeri* (Homeboyz),Peter Kilonzo (KCB),Zedden Marrow* (Homeboyz),WINGS:Tony Onyango (Homeboyz),Felix Ayange* (Kabras), Jacob Ojee (KCB),Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Edmund Anya* (Strathmore),Vincent Mose (Impala)

*in line for debut

Material from Kenya Rugby Union used to compile this report read more here

Spread the love

More in International