Connect with us

English Premier League

Tough assignment for Kenya in Twenty20 qualifier.

Spread the love

Kenya will have to go through among them top ranked Afghanistan, in a tough Pool B during the ICC World Twenty20 qualifier to be hosted Ireland and Scotland from July 9-26 2015.

United Arab Emirates (UAE), Netherlands, Scotland, Canada and Oman will be Kenya’s other opponents in the group.

Group A has co-hosts Ireland, Nepal, Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, USA, Jersey and Namibia and

The International Cricket Council (ICC) schedule announced on Thursday will see the top six sides from the 18-day tournament during which 51 matches will be played, join the 10 Full Members for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, which will be held from 11 March to 3 April 2016.

Kenya’s first match will be against Canada on July 10 before facing Oman a day later. Other matches will be against Afghanistan on July 13, Scotland on July 14, UAE on July 15 and Netherlands on July 18.

In the July tournament, Ireland will also aim to complete a hat-trick of titles after it won the March 2012 and November 2013 qualifiers, both times defeating Afghanistan in the final.

Afghanistan had taken the top honours in the February 2010 tournament, while Ireland and Netherlands shared the trophy in August 2009 in Belfast after the final was washed-out.

The inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007 was competed by Kenya and Scotland apart from the 10 Full Members, while Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland (replacing Zimbabwe) featured in the 2009 tournament in England.

According to the format of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, the sides that top the two groups will automatically qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, while the sides that finish second and third in each of the two groups will play cross-over matches with the two winners joining the table-toppers for the India tournament.

Spread the love

More in English Premier League