Connect with us


Repeat Election Forces KRU To Amend Sevens Series Dates

Spread the love

NAIROBI, Kenya- The Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) has rescheduled the dates of the ongoing National Sevens Circuit in order to accommodate the remaining rounds in the series before the country’s repeat elections scheduled for October 17.

Following the conclusion of the second tournament in the series, the Kabeberi Sevens where Impala were able to retain the crown they won last year, up is the Prinsloo Sevens in Nakuru. The dates remain unchanged and is scheduled to be played on September 23 and 24.

The original venue for the fourth round, Ngong, was not ready when it was last inspected meaning the Sepetuka Sevens will be played at the Eldoret Sports Club on September 30  and October 1.

The circuit will then move to Kisumu on October 6 and 7 for the highly anticipated Dala Sevens, which was originally scheduled to take place towards the end of October.

Regulation ammendment

Christie Sevens in Nairobi, the penultimate leg of the circuit will be played at the Rugby Football Union of East Africa (RFUEA) Grounds on October 14 and 15.

With four tournaments in four weeks, KRU has considered an amendment to Regulation 8 (a) of the Sevens Circuit manual which allows teams to submit squads of sixteen players per tournament,and four officials, one of whom must be a doctor/physiotherapist or nurse.

Additionally, Team Managers will be required to submit a team of twelve players for every match from the larger pool of sixteen submitted to the tournament. This list of twelve can be changed for other matches in the tournament.

Spread the love

More in Local