Connect with us

Other Sports

Kenya face litmus test in tough pool.

Kenya will face a tough group in the  ICC 2015 World Twenty20 Qualifier as they have been drawn in Group B alongside  2015 World Cup finalists Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates and Scotland. Other teams in the group of death are Canada and Oman.

 The qualifiers will be staged in Ireland and Scotland between 9 -26 July. Defending champions Ireland have been pooled in a relatively easy pool alongside Namibia, Jersey, Papua New Guinea, Nepal, Hong Kong and United States of America.

 All the teams in Kenya’s pool apart from Oman Canada and Kenya have T20 International status thus making the pool a tough one.

 Matches where both teams have T20I status will be recorded as a Twenty20 International match while a match which feature one or two teams without T20I status will only recorded as a Twety20 match.

 The top six sides from the 18-day tournament during which 51 matches will be played, will join the 10 Full Members for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, which will be held from 11 March to 3 April 2016.

In the July tournament, Ireland will also aim to complete a hat-trick of titles after it won the March 2012 and November 2013 qualifiers, both times defeating Afghanistan in the final.

Afghanistan had taken the top honours in the February 2010 tournament, while Ireland and Netherlands shared the trophy in August 2009 in Belfast after the final was washed-out.

The inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007 was competed by Kenya and Scotland apart from the 10 Full Members, while Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland (replacing Zimbabwe) featured in the 2009 tournament in England. Ireland and Afghanistan filled in the two spots for the 2010 and 2012 events, before the ICC Board decided to increase the number of sides below the Test nations to six for the ICC World Twenty20 2014. The six sides that joined the 10 Full Members for the Bangladesh tournament were Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Nepal, Netherlands and the UAE.

According to the format of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, the sides that top the two groups will automatically qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, while the sides that finish second and third in each of the two groups will play cross-over matches with the two winners joining the table-toppers for the India tournament.

The losing sides of the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches with the winners completing the 16-team line-up for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The fifth-sixth and third-fourth position play-offs as well as the final will be played on the last three days of the tournament based on which these teams’ seeding/groupings for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 will be confirmed.


The two groups are:

Group A

Group B

A1 – Ireland

B1 – Afghanistan

A2 – Nepal

B2 – UAE

A3 – Hong Kong

B3 – Netherlands

A4 – PNG

B4 – Scotland

A5 – Namibia

B5 – Canada

A6 – USA

B6 – Kenya

A7 – Jersey

B7 – Oman


More in Other Sports