Connect with us

News Article

Tapio To Face Tundo In Nanyuki

Spread the love

Focus in this year’s Nanyuki Rally will be the much hyped battle pitting ‘Flying Finn’ Tapio Laukkanen against multiple former Safari and KNRC Champion Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo.
Tundo’s new car has been the talk of town and it will be interesting to see how the star driver performs against Tapio. Tundo unveiled his new Ford Fiesta Proto in Wundanyi last month but failed to survive the tricky terrain when his car caught fire.
Tapio has indeed cleared the ground with all the big guns of KNRC over the past two seasons whenever he has had a good run, but Tundo’s new machine seems to be the answer to his longstanding dominance.  There has been some good humored rivalry in the racing fraternity with fans bantering over who will come out tops.

But whatever is up the sleeves of the two will be known on Saturday when the best drivers converge in Laikipia County.

Among the most successful drivers in the Nanyuki Rally Group organized event are Baldev Chager and Ian Duncan who will both be driving be driving Mitsubishi Evolution 10. Duncan has won the Nanyuki diadem twice in succession in 2000 and 2001.
Chager won back to back titles in Nanyuki in 1995 and 1996 when the event counted towards the Clubman rally championship. He repeated his back to back feat in 2007 and 2008 in the KNRC. Nanyuki joined the KNRC in 1998, the same year when Jonathan Toroitich emerged the winner in a Toyota Celica 2000cc machine.
Meanwhile, the hills around Loldaiga near Timau and Lengetia in Naro Moru will today (Saturday)  reverberate with the roar of turbocharged and normally aspirated machines when the second half of the 2016 Kenya National Rally Championship gets underway in Laikipia County.
Nanyuki Rally  returns to the eight leg series since 2014 when defending champion Jaspreet Chatthe emerged the winner.
After a rigorous reconnaissance on the route course yesterday (Friday) , three stages lie in the waiting for crews  on 100% private land stages.
The rally will start from KCB Nanyuki branch at 7am after which they will tackle a 32km transport road section through to the 50.60km Loldaiga.   The finish will be at Batian View which will also be the venue for the service park, rally headquarters and the designated viewing point for spectators.
Main class
1=Jassi Chatthe 79
1=Tapio Laukannen 79
3. Ian Duncan 62
4. Rajbir Rai 61
5.Baldev Chager 37
6=Carl Tundo 33
6=Onkar Rai 33
6=Manvir Baryan 33
Classic Class
1. Jonathan Somen 25
2. Ramesh Vishram 21
3. Dinesh Sachania 18
Group N Class
1. Ian Duncan 88
2. Baldev Chager 46
3. Mahesh Halai 40
2WD Class
1. Alex Lairangi 80
2. Eric Bengi 75
3. Leonardo Varese 68
4. Sammy Nyorri 39
5. Gurmit Thethy 15
Division 1 Class
1. Onkar Rai 84
2. Asad Khan “Kalulu” 48
3. Farhaaz Khan 47
Division 2 Class
1. Mahesh Halai 53
2. Eric Bengi 46
3. Adil Mirza 45
Division 3 Class
1. Natasha Tundo 9
2. Chandu Devji 66
3. Edward Maina 50

2016: ??
2015: NOT HELD
2014   Jaspreet Singh Chatthe
2013: NOT HELD
2012 : Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo/Tim Jessop (EVO9)
2011: NOT HELD
2010: NOT HELD
2009   Lee Rose/Piers Daykin
2008   Baldev Chager/F. Yusuf
2007: Baldev Chager/F. Yusuf
2006: Asad Anwar
2005: Carl Tundo/T. Jessop (Subaru N10)
2001: Ian Duncan (Toyota L/C)
2000: Ian Duncan/Dave Williamson
1999: Rob Hellier/Dez Page Morris (Mitsubishi Gallant)
1998: Jonathan Toroitich (Toyota Celica)
1998: Shaheed Wissanji/Tom Muriuki
1997: Karim S. Wssanji/M Verjee
1996: CRC: Baldev Cheger Subaru Legacy
1995: CRC: Baldev Chager-Opel Ascona
1993:CRC  late Tarveen Alam/Verjee (Subaru Legacy

Spread the love

More in News Article