FC Barcelona were the beneficiaries of an extremely dubious penalty decision in their 4-0 win over Real Betis on Wednesday,
with Betis keeper Antonio Adán penalised despite clearly punching out the ball before Lionel Messi crashed into him
Although it may not seem significant in a 4-0 win, particularly since Neymar missed the resultant spot-kick, FC Barcelona were awarded an extremely dubious penalty near the half-hour mark against Real Betis at the Camp Nou on Wednesday — on a day when Real Madrid received two questionable penalties themselves.
FC Barcelona midfielder Sergio Busquets played a ball over the top of the Betis defence in search of Messi, which prompted keeper Antonio Adán to leave his line and punch the ball clear. Despite very clearly getting all of the ball and none of Messi, the referee pointed to the spot.
Justice was done, however, with Neymar slipping as he took the kick and sending it crashing against the crossbar. Here is a video of the bizarre penalty decision: