Connect with us

News Article

Falcons Ace Chisanga Makes Simba XVs Squad For Kampala

Simba XV Team Manager Wangila Simiyu with injured captain Wilson Kopondo and stand-in skipper Darwin Mukidza during the naming of the Elgon Cup squad in Nairobi on June 7, 2017. PHOTO/SPN
Spread the love

NAIROBI, Kenya- UK-based Newcastle Falcons back-row Joshua Chisanga has been drafted in the Kenya Simba XVs squad for the first leg of the 2017 Elgon Cup on Saturday.

South African head coach, Jerome Paarwater who unveiled his squad on Wednesday in Nairobi also gave the captain’s armband to Darwin Mukidza with regular skipper Wilson Kopondo ruled out for a few weeks by rib injury sustained in their narrow loss to Germany.

Simbas are out to bounce back from the dispiriting last gasp defeat to the Europeans when they travel to Kampala for the latest instalment of their long-running rivalry against the Cranes.

Chisanga made the team after being cleared to play and will wear the Simba colours for the first time since sealing the move to the Aviva Premiership and is expected to start at number 8.

Strengthen pack

KCB Lions RFC captain, Curtis Lilako has been brought to the team to strengthen the Simbas pack having recently led his domestic side to register back-to-back the Kenya Cup and Enterprise Cup double.

Isaac Adimo of SportPesa Harlequins RFC is expected to boost the backline and compliment the number 10 slot with Davies Chenge, Eric Kerre and Martin Owila the other back rows in the side.

Biko Adema and Samson Onsomu travel as halfbacks while Jacob Ojee, Patrice Agunda, David Ambunya, Mukidza and Tony Onyango marshalling the back-line.

Kenya fell 29-30 to Germany in their first game of the season with Paarwater expected to name his starting XV on Friday in Kampala.


Simba XV Squad

1.Moses Amusala 2.Peter Karia 3.Dennis Karani 4.Simon Muniafu 5.Oliver Mangeni 6.Eric Kerre 7.Davies Chenge 8.Martin Owila 9.Samson Onsomu 10.Biko Adema 11.Jacob Ojee 12.Patrice Agunda 13.David Ambunya 14.Darwin Mukidza 15.Tony Onyango 16.Philip Ikambili 17.James Kubasu 18.Curtis Lilako 19.George Nyambua 20.Joshua Chisanga 21.Kelvin Masai 22.Isaac Adimo 23.Leo Seje

Spread the love

More in News Article